PROBLEM #2 BF2142 Freezing Map Loads, Frozen Screen While In Game: THE REAL FIX

PROBLEM:

Freezing Map Loading, In-Game Lock Ups. Can load the map up to about 66% and stops. Then you have to ctrl-alt-delete out and restart.

Solutions tried:

Block port 17475 TCP and UDP. (This was a temporary fix)

PB reinstall – new pnkbstra,b.exe files

PB update

Block in game advertising port 17475 (worked temporally)

Reinstall 1.25 patch

Clear cache

Double check networking and firewall settings

Disable firewalls, anti-virus

Uninstall recent “conflicting” windows updates

COMPLETE uninstall of game, reinstall game, patch, NS, patch again…

None of these worked. I had no problem running 2142 on my old Dell, so that eliminated a lot of network and some OS “maybes”.

SOLUTION:

THE REAL FIX

program files/ Electronic Arts/ Battlefield 2142 / radial.cdb

I saw topics saying to delete the radial.cdb file, but I could never find it. It was listed as a hidden file, but even when you view hidden files it still wasn’t showing up. On either my Dell with XP, or my new PC with Vista. Doing a file system searches revealed nothing.

I COULD NOT SEE THIS FILE THROUGH WINDOWS EXPLORER.

*****You have to “View” it from a WinRAR browser*****

Then delete this file. When you restart, 2142 will make a new one. Problem solved.

Free trial for winrar 3.70: http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm

NOTES:

Radial.cdb records or creates a list of some type of data. Every time you start 2142 it adds to the file size. This file eventually reaches a “Bloating” point, where 2142 will no longer be able to properly run. Every copy of 2142 will most likey run into this problem. This problem has recently been happening to more and more people, I am willing to bet their file sizes are finally reaching their limit.

My file sizes

Size of old problem file, 15 MB

Size of new file, 1.4 MB

You might want to run winrar and check this file out, and delete it before you start having problems. It does not adversely effect any current settings.

8 Responses to PROBLEM #2 BF2142 Freezing Map Loads, Frozen Screen While In Game: THE REAL FIX

  1. Kevin Henry says:

    Thanks for the tip on the file only being seen using winrar. I thought I was delusional as every other post I read said all you needed to do was reveal hidden files. That didn’t work for me. Winrar did. Hats off!

  2. philiw says:

    Thanks your post was a godsend, didnt know what the hell was going on with the game prob now sorted, thanks 🙂

  3. rebs69 says:

    Ehm, why winrar ? (probably cos the file has the hidden attribute but I had no problems seeing it with ‘total commander’ what I always use as my file manager/explorer etc) (This can also be achieved via explorer I reckon.)

    Besides that, thanks for the tip! …Helped me out with a fresh install to get the right resolution for my TFT screen.

  4. Matt says:

    No need to install anything, its hidden as a system file.

    uncheck the “hide protected operating system files (recommended)” and you should see it in your BF2142 folder.

    once you’ve killed it off i’d recommend checking it again as you could accidentally delete something XP needs !!

  5. g5tec says:

    Thanks man you saved me from going mad works a treat. Out of the blue map would load 90 % then stop you saved me from the format hard drive routine.As 2142 only game playing. Thanks again.

  6. 2142Gamer says:

    Thanks you thank you thank you!

    I had contacted EA support and the answer was to uninstall and reinstall. I did it 3 times with no result. I am sure if I had deleted the directory manually it might have fixed it, but what a pain. Tried your fix and I am good to go again. My file was 28 Mb when I deleted it, it is 900K now. I don’t understand how EA doesn’t know about this and the fix. Where did you find it?

    BTW, Matt was right, just uncheck the “hide protected operating system files (recommended)” and you should see it in your BF2142 folder.

  7. Hello, i used everything youve said here, and there is still no file!! Im getting really mad please help me, there is no file named radial.cdb its all screwed up i reinstalled bf and all please help. my team website – http://www.xteams.co.nr

  8. Nevermind! I still could not view it, so i made that file radial.cdb folder and it worked haha!

Leave a Reply

